Sapphire

20141128_145837

 

About a month or more ago, I was driving down a one way street in the hood. I saw a very thin black and white pit bull with her empty teats hanging. She was not tethered and was kind of walking around  in the front of a few of the yards. I had someone on my tail so I had to keep going. It was a one way street, so I went around the block and came back to look for her and I could not find her anywhere. It was like she disappeared.

A couple of weeks ago, we were driving down the same street and we saw this same dog again. This time, she was eating out of a black trash bag on the edge of the street! Oh my God, I was so glad that we were seeing this poor thing again! It was a pretty nice day and a lot of people were out on this Sunday afternoon. They were watching us as we pulled our van over. We got out and I asked them if anyone knew anything about this dog and they all said no!  One person told me that it sure looked like she needed some help. I told him that I agreed with him, so we were going to take her and get her medical care.

20141128_145841

 

20141128_145835

We loaded her up in the van. She was so beautiful, with crystal blue eyes. She was skinny. She had numerous scrapes and sores on her. Her poor teats were just hanging, her milk long gone. This girl had been through a lot of bad stuff, we could tell. We headed straight to a Church’s Chicken and bought her a box of chicken strips, which she thoroughly enjoyed!

DSCF5198

DSCF5200

DSCF5204

 

20141128_150523

 

We got this girl back to Chain of Hope. She had the most amazing blue eyes, we decided to call her Sapphire.

 

20141128_154538

20141128_154633

DSCF5220

 

Sapphire settled in and began gaining weight. She made lots of friends-both people and dog! This girl got along with everyone.

 

 

DSCF7103

 

DSCF7111

 

 

 

DSCF7107

 

We’d only had Sapphire a couple of weeks and she came into heat again! She was well enough to get spayed, so we got that done.

Sapphire now weighs 67 lbs. with a few more pounds to go! She is one strong girl, too! She has a great personality, plays with everyone, and is just thankful to be off the streets and at Chain of Hope! She is now up for foster or adoption!

DSCF7113

 

Sapphire says, “Merry Christmas, everyone, and thanks for saving me!”

DSCF7149

3 Responses to “Sapphire”

  1. Connie Sherwood Says:

    Sapphire is such a beautiful dog! So glad You found her and saved her. My daughter used to live in Texas and while there she saw on a shelter website a white pit with black ears that had only one day before she was to be put down. They had found her on the street with one of her legs ripped open and her ears sunburned and they did not have the money to fix her! My daughter called and said she would take her and drove 4 hrs one way and the shelter worker drove 4 hrs just to save this dog. We chipped in and helped get her surgery on the leg and my daughter did all her water therapy and she is the love of her life! My daughter has moved home and now she is the love of our life too. She has changed my whole fear of pits. I believe they are so mistreated and yet still so loving. God bless you all for the work you do and have a Merry Christmas!

  2. Judith Pannebaker Says:

    From a fellow Texan in the Hill Country, thank you, Connie, for such a great story at Christmas and thank your daughter for saving a pittie!!! And Chain of Hope, bless you for all that you do to rescue abused, neglected and mistreated dogs!

Leave a Reply

