Crosby

 

Chain of Hope encounters unspeakable suffering. This was one of those times.

DSCF1402

We received yet another call from KCK from a neighbor saying that the dog next door was terribly matted. They could not find anyone to help them, return their call, etc. Thankfully, she called Chain of Hope with her concerns.  When I called her back she told me that the woman that had the dog would give it up, she was sure. I asked her what kind of dog it was and she said it was a Cocker. She said the owners were older and both of them had had cancer. The man had died not long ago and the woman currently had cancer. She said the dog had gotten put out in the back yard and basically ignored. The neighbor had put a dog house in the yard for the poor thing. He was fed pretty well because the neighbor supplemented him with food as well. I thanked this compassionate woman for caring and told her that we would be over later that day.

Erica, Carol and I got to the house. The people came out to meet us. They told us that the dog was in the backyard and that no one could touch it. They said that he would bite. We went back to see him and we were shocked at the shape this poor dog was in. Unbelievable! Each ear was a huge mat, huge mats were hanging off of each ear, his legs had huge mats attached, he had poop stuck all over him because of the terrible matting on his behind. He was growling at us. My first thought was that he had every right to be angry and upset. Of course he was growling and wanted to bite. He was unsocialized and in pain. I would expect nothing less from a dog that had been treated like this. My heart went out to him.

I’m really not going to comment on the family situation. I was thankful to be called and to be able to rescue this dog that needed our help so badly. That’s really all my brain could process at the moment-thank God we now had this dog and could get him the help that he so desperately needed.

DSCF1366

DSCF1370

DSCF1368

We went in the back yard and squatted down and talked to him. We went very slowly with him. He was biting and growling. I was finally able to get a slip lead over his head and we slowly started to walk out of the back yard. He was very scared and flipped out. He was twisting and biting at the slip lead.  I was so afraid that he was going to snap it in two and take off. I asked Erica to go get the catch pole off of the truck. I got the pole on him. He was flipping out and alligator rolling. Erica and I worked together with both of us having a hold on him. We hated for it to be this bad for him, but it was the only way at that time to get him out of there. We told him it was the best day of his life, but I don’t think he believed us.

When we were loading him, one of the family members told us to “watch him with other dogs-he doesn’t like them!”

DSCF1371

DSCF1372

DSCF1373

DSCF1374We got him back to Chain of Hope. He was not a happy camper, but Erica was able to get him on a slip lead to walk in.

DSCF1386

DSCF1403

DSCF1400

DSCF1396

We had totally freaked this kid out and he’d had a very stressful day. We got him set up in our isolation room. I put a pain pill in some canned food and we just left him alone so that he could rest and settle down. We would tackle this mess the next morning.

The next morning, we sedated him and Tanner began the arduous task of shaving down this monstrous tangle of hair. It took a good hour to get this poor little boy shaved down. We had him neutered and vaccinated while he was under. Thank you, Tanner, for all of your patient work on this boy.

Here he is, sedated, going to grooming and neuter!

DSCF1406

DSCF1415

DSCF1417

DSCF1419

DSCF1423


DSCF1426

He got a bath and a toenail trim. He even got a warm blow-dry! I just kept thinking how he was going to feel like a different dog when he woke up.

DSCF1431

DSCF1432

I named this precious little guy Crosby. I could not imagine the suffering that he had endured. He was out in the bitter, sub-zero temperatures that we had. He must’ve been wondering when and finally, if help was ever going to come. Well help finally did come, Crosby, and it was named Chain of Hope.

DSCF1434

DSCF1444Crosby was starting to trust me. I brought him Qtrip hot dogs and yummy things like that and just went very slowly with him. I could pet him now without him snapping at me. I knew he needed a doggie friend and just had a feeling that he was going to be alright with another dog. I let Crosby and Roy, our little Shih Tzu/Poodle mix that we have meet through a gate and they were both really excited, tails wagging. I let them be together and now they are BFFs! Roy has totally helped Crosby come out of his shell. He is still very shy with new people, but he’s doing well with the volunteers that he sees frequently. Crosby sees Roy getting all that love and then he decides that he wants some of that, too!

DSCF1453

DSCF1447

Crosby will need a lot of TLC, but he’s going to be just fine. He is absolutely gorgeous and he has hope in his eyes. He will be up for adoption very soon!

This rescue was made possible by you. You have our sincere appreciation.

DSCF1436

14 Responses to “Crosby”

  1. Brandi Says:

    Once again you guys saved the day for another helpless animal. Love you guys and the work you do.

  2. Valli Kelley Says:

    Absolutely beautiful….’your group and Crosby’…we also have had to endure these kinds of ‘horror’ stories were I work with a rescue group, so sad at the beginning, but always end happy, I see that for Crosby

  3. Mary Glover Says:

    Crosby’s condition was deplorable, but Chain of HOPE did NOT give up on him. You are AWESOME. Crosby is getting a special treat this weekend from me. THANK you, Kate and company, for this rescue. I can’t imagine the horrible life this poor baby had to endure, especially in the cold this winter. Thank you, once again.

  4. Trudy Says:

    What an outstanding job you all do and what a terrific story and photos! I’m going to share this as I have others but this shows it all from start to finish! God bless you ALL for this very special work that you do!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. Dinah Says:

    Hard to believe that was a dog under all that. You are so amazing, I am happy to be involved with you. Thank you again for what you do.

  6. Sharon Gartin Says:

    That was the worst matted hair I have ever ever seen and Ive seen a lot at KCPP! He is gorgeous! thank you Kate!!!

  7. sharon goff Says:

    God bless all of you at COH…….that you can see this daily and have the courage to continue……….but what a success story that encourages you in your important mission!

  8. john Says:

    It’s People like you that make our world a better place for our Animal Kingdom. God Bless you All… All of our Pets over the past 50 years were all Rescue Dogs and Cats. My Pets are the only things on this earth that “Worship Me” No one else wags their tail and runs around in circles when I get home.

  9. Vicki Kerns Says:

    Thank you! And God bless each & every one of you for the work that you do to save these babies. I ask blessings for each of you. Thank you!

  10. Nancy Says:

    Reblogged this on "OUR WORLD".

  11. dianaroggenbuckebrown Says:

    What a heartbreaking story, I’m so glad it had a happy ending. What that poor darling had to endure was terrible. Thank you for all your help Chain Of Hope sounds like an amazing organisation.

  12. Lois Gorman Says:

    I want to tell you how much I appreciate all you do for the animals.Thank you so much for helping Crosby, and all the rest. God bless all of you for everything.

  13. Josephine Says:

    So wonderful..he’s so sweet..you all are angels

  14. Mary Says:

    God Bless all of you!

Leave a Reply

