Bailey

Cassie07

This is Bailey, one of the sweetest dogs in the world. We were on outreach one day last week, when I spotted this beautiful girl on the side of the street. She was totally emaciated and she was eating a dead cat. That is how very hungry this poor, poor dog was.

103_6051We pulled over immediately and opened a can of cat food to lure her with. She was frightened when we pulled over and she ran to the back of an abandoned house. I went after her and was looking around in the back of the house when April yelled at me that she was back around front. I came up the side of the house and there she was, on someone’s front porch ripping open their trash and eating something gross. I started talking to her and tossing chunks of canned cat food toward her. It was a slow process as I threw them closer and closer to me. It took about 10-15 min. to finally get her close enough that I could get a slip lead around her neck. We loaded her up in the van and headed to the vet clinic. This girl was extremely thin. There was more snow coming and I just don’t think she would have made it much longer out there on her own.

103_6056

103_6052

103_6060

She ate all the way back to the clinic. We got her in there and she only weighed 35 lbs.

103_6068

CassieBones06Bailey should hate the world. But, as is so often the case, she loves everyone. I don’t know where she came from, I don’t know her story, but she’s a love bug and will make someone a wonderful companion.

Cassie06

Cassie03

Cassie02

Bailey gained 11 lbs. in one week! Her entire life has turned around. She is happy and safe, putting on weight and lovin’ life! I am so thankful that you keep us out there. Bailey would probably not be alive right now if Chain of Hope hadn’t seen her and gotten her. You, our supporters, pay for our gas so that we can be out in the urban core 6 days a week. We often have two vans out the same day, so we are getting to more animals needing help. We can’t thank you enough. Chain of Hope being out there often means the difference between life or death for an animal, like it did for Bailey. Thanks for standing with us!

Cassie04

4 Responses to “Bailey”

  1. Lori Smith Says:

    My Goodness, she is gorgeous!!! I wish I could take her, but I’m sure someone will step up soon.

  2. Mimi Says:

    She’s beautiful….Bravo for all you do.

  3. Susan Says:

    She is so regal and striking. Thank God you saw her and saved her.

  4. Donna Woods Says:

    Bailey you are a beauty and did not deserve the neglect and treatment you received. Please report ABUSE and NEGLECT..Don’t let these dogs suffer in silence! be their VOICE!

Leave a Reply

