Thunder

 

Thunder_6438 (1)

Royal03

Thunder_6423

Royal01

105_4880

A couple of volunteers found this situation by going down an alley in mid-town. These people had a brindle female pit bull on a chain and also a black and white Great Dane mix, male, about 7  mo. old, on a chain. Neither dog was fixed and they were a little thin, but not terrible at that time. The volunteers came back and told me about the situation and I went over a couple of days later and met the owner and the dogs. I talked to him about spaying and neutering. He was receptive to spaying the pit bull, but not so much for doing the male. We find this a lot when men don’t want to neuter their males and we just work through it. We usually can talk them into it or we go ahead and do the female and continue to visit and work on the people and usually we end up getting the male done, too.  We set it up for me to pick up Royal, the pit bull, and get her in for a free spay (thank you, donors!). I’d keep working on him about Big Boy.

We got Royal spayed and back home. We had the dogs set up on tie-outs and left plenty of food, etc. We brought Big Boy a bigger dog house, since he was growing like crazy!

105_4884

Royal02Eating

I  hadn’t been to this address in a couple of months. One day,  I went down the alley to get a good look at the dogs before going to the door. I was appalled! The dogs were thin, especially Big Boy. I don’t have pix from that visit, but trust me Big Boy was very, very thin. I pulled around front and parked the van. The guy saw me and came out and greeted me cheerfully. I went along with it. I asked how the dogs were doing and he said, “Fine-do you want to see them?” You bet I do, I thought. “Sure”, I said. We rounded the corner to the back yard, looked at the dogs,  and I said, “your dogs look absolutely terrible, what the hell is going on?” He said that he couldn’t afford the dog food that they needed and I replied that I hadn’t had a phone call from him asking for food-which I’d told him many times to call if he needed help. I was very upset with him and very firm. I told him that he needed to be feeding these dogs at least twice a day, with snacks in between. I gave him a giant bag of good food, canned food and boxes of milk bones and I told him that those dogs better look better when I came back  to check on them.

This guy really stepped up as far as feeding them. When I went back to check on them, they had both put on a lot of weight. I praised him a lot and encouraged him to keep it up. They had both broken their cables, so the guy had them on some big chains. Poor babies.  I always got the feeling when I visited that the people favored Royal over Big Boy. They just talked about Royal more and seemed to pay more attention to her. Big Boy was growing a lot and getting really big. His name fit him well! However, he was chained to a tree and only had about 4 feet to move around. Royal’s chain was shortened up, too, so they didn’t get tangled. They were both great dogs and this was so sad.

One day when I was there, the woman came out. She was very nice and we went back to see the dogs. She didn’t really like to touch them that much. I pointed to Big Boy and I said, “if you guys ever decide to get rid of Big Boy, call me-do not just give him to anybody.” She replied to me,” Oh, he’ll never get rid of Big Boy”.  The next week, this was a message on our Chain of Hope line from Big Boy’s owner: “You can come and get the dog, the chain, and the dog house!”  Go figure.

BigBoyWithLady01

I was so happy that they’d called! This was liberation day, baby! Big Boy was freed off of the chain that day.

103_5469

When I got over there to pick him up, they actually had Big Boy in the house. The woman told me that they had talked about it and that Big Boy didn’t deserve to live like that. I thanked them for realizing that and I told them that Royal didn’t deserve it either. I told them that they needed to start bringing her in the house at times. We put her on a stronger tie-out instead of that heavy chain. She had a lot of room now that they didn’t have to worry about her tangling with Big Boy.  If you know anything about Chain of Hope, you know that we will stay involved with Royal and continue to monitor that situation. At least she will not be having babies out there.

I renamed this handsome hunk Thunder. These dogs always have to lose their old names, along with their old lives. He was starting a brand new life. We got him settled at Chain of  Hope. He weighed 95 lbs. and could stand to gain a little more. He played with Zena, one of our beautiful rottie mixes and did great. Thunder is a truly wonderful boy! He is stunning!

103_5509

DSC_0120

Thunder04

103_5510

A wonderful family has come forward to foster Thunder, possibly adopt! He is now in a home environment and doing well. Chase is 15 yrs. old and I think is Thunder’s new best friend!

Thunder03

DSC_0121

DSC_0131

Thunder02

Thunder has discovered that freedom is a beautiful thing! No more tow chain keeping him 4 ft. from a tree 24/7. Those days are over, buddy! Have a great life!

DSC_0125

We sincerely thank you for your support. We know we wouldn’t be out there everyday without our supporters behind us! Thank you!

One Response to “Thunder”

  1. andywhiteman Says:

    What happened to no neuter, no help rule? Did it change or did I miss something.
    Just imagine how much a large dog can eat! Feeding Thunder could be expensive. Dry food of good quality is over $1 per pound. I pay over $20 for 17.5 lbs of Iams!
    It takes a really caring owner to realize he can’t handle the expense and give the dog up. I would find that hard to do.

Leave a Reply

