Moose

Chain of Hope received a call from a concerned citizen in KCK about a dog that had  an embedded collar in his neck, but he wouldn’t come close to anyone. She was putting food and water down, but didn’t know where to turn. She had called animal control, they came out but pretty much said they couldn’t catch him. Thank goodness Christina called Chain of Hope. We sent our fabulous volunteers, Ashlee and Michael, over to investigate. They went to meet Christina over there and when they pulled up, they saw a large red dog standing in the middle of the road with his head down. You could definitely see that he had something around his neck. When he saw them, he turned and trotted off. He had been hanging in a junkyard and a field next to it. It was kind of out of the city a little bit and there was a lot of room for him to roam out there. He was coming back to his food source, which now was Christina putting down food for him, which kept him staying in that area.

Ashlee and Michael called me to tell me about the situation. We decided that we needed the trap, so I ran out to our storage unit and got it. It was a very rainy weekend, so we knew he’d be hunkered down somewhere. We put the trap in the woods, right next to a hole in the fence where he was moving in and out of the junkyard. Christina, Ashlee, Michael and I took turns all weekend checking the trap. We would re-bait it with more smelly things and make sure it was still set and wait. We were diligent from Friday until I got the call from Ashlee Monday morning. Christina had gone to check the trap that morning and he was finally in there!

I went over to load him up and get him to the vet. His neck was very bad. It stunk horribly and we could see the collar in there. His neck was a slimy mess of infection and blood. He was frightened, but not aggressive at all. We carried him through the woods to my SUV and off we went to Bannister Vet Clinic.

I named this boy Moose. He is a gorgeous reddish colored Bull Mastiff mix, I believe. He obviously had been suffering for a long time. His neck was a mess.We got him over to Bannister Vet Clinic to marvelous Dr. Kennedy and crew and they gave him an injection of pain meds until they could get him to surgery. He fell asleep and we pulled him out to cut the collar out of his neck and shave what we could in preparation for his surgery.

Moose went to surgery. What an ordeal he has been through. I can’t imagine the pain this boy has been in, let alone being out there by himself trying to survive. Thank God Christina saw him and made the phone calls trying to get help.

After surgery and still asleep, Moose was taken to the tub where we could totally clean and rinse all of that infectious gunk off of him. He is on antibiotics and pain meds. Moose could sure use a foster home to recover in. He’s been through a lot. I will be going over to see him today and see how he’s doing. I will post an update. I will dog test him and see how he does with other dogs, so that hopefully he can get into a foster home. He was neutered while he was knocked out and he tested heart worm negative!!! Those are few and far between for Chain of Hope!

Chain of Hope is all about the animals and alleviating their suffering. We are tenacious because we care so much about them. Thank you for continuing to keep us out there.

8 Responses to “Moose”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    Thank God you were there to save this gorgeous boy!

  2. Jason Morgan Says:

    I have two emotions, anger and relief! I am more relieved that he is being tended to and that he will be on the road to recovery. God bless all that helped him get to being where he belongs!

  3. Patty Says:

    All of you are amazing……every story brings a tear!

  4. Christine Black Says:

    Let me know if his dog testing goes well. We would love to foster this baby for COH!

  5. Jackie Says:

    I am so thankful for all of the hard work you all do! You are angels!!!

  6. andywhiteman Says:

    I am glad COH was there to trap and to help Moose. Importunately the collar became an issue. People don’t know that as a dog grows, the collar will become tighter. People should check that the collar is loose enough that they can put their finger under the collar but not loose enough to slip off. Weight gain can also be an issue. I have had to replace or loosen collars as the dog gained weight. I try to buy them a little large so that they won’t be tight.

    I can adjust an old fashioned collar but I am not smart enough to adjust the new style collars. I think it takes an Engineering Degree to adjust new technology! I have lighted and reflective collars that I can’t adjust. Finally I went to the vet’s and asked a vet tech to adjust one. That really makes me feel stupid.

  7. Meg Says:

    Thank you COH for being there for this sweet baby. You are so amazing. Cannot wait to hear more about Moose and his happy future!

  8. Sarah Estlund Says:

    I was crying until I read Christine’s comment that she would foster him. Then I continued to cry but it was some happy tears too.

    Thank God for you guys at Chain of Hope. Thank you for all you do.

Leave a Reply

