Oh, the Places We Go!

I thought I’d share a few of the places that you get to visit when you’re a Chain of Hope volunteer and some of the things you see!






















We’re in the trenches-right where we need to be. Thanks for keeping us there!

6 Responses to “Oh, the Places We Go!”

  1. Sarah Estlund Says:

    Kate, Ashlee, Brittney, Marilyn…you guys are amazing…I can’t sleep after seeing these disgusting and horrific images and you do this every day. Please please please keep doing what you’re doing – keep the faith that you’re making a HUGE difference in SO MANY lives…these poor babies…

  2. andywhiteman Says:

    Looks like the hood. Hard to believe that people live like that! If they can’t or won’t take care of themselves, they certainly won’t care for their dog(s).

  3. Paige Says:

    Un-F’ing-Believable and absolutely heartbreaking… I would no doubt be in jail for animal theft and perhaps various other offenses if I had to see those kinds of images up close and in person everyday. My heartfelt thank you to all of you at COH! If and/or when I win the powerball jackpot, I’ll be sending a huge check your way 🙂

  4. Judy Says:

    You are very special people with huge hearts and and amazing constitution to return day after day to these kinds of places. But Thank God you do! You are truly guardian angels for all those poor babies who are so innocent. I will never understand why people who cannot provide for themselves can have the gall to chain up a beautiful dog or cage a poor cat and make them totally dependent on them. It breaks my heart. My three pets are so spoiled because in my way, I’m trying to make up for all those who are so unfortunate. Thank you COH.

  5. andywhiteman Says:

    I have had neighbors like that. Wish I knew about COH back then. I called Animal Control many times. I had an obnoxious neighbor who left their dog out to bark and disturb me. Animal control said that I had to take them to court which I did. Both the contracted prosecutor a the idiot mini-judge appeared to have no knowledge of the barking dog ordinance and the case was dismissed.

    The Denver Dumb Friend League is claims to be a “no kill” shelter and has law enforcement authority. I called them about a neighbor with barking dogs. DDFL said, “A barking dog is often an abuse dog.” They investigated and cited the owner for no shelter, no food, and frozen water (hence no water.) I couldn’t understand why people would have 2 dogs and lock them in a 20 x 50 ft pen in the back yard under those conditions. One of the dogs was somewhat friendly with me but was afraid to come near me. He came to me when he escaped from their back yard and couldn’t get back in. One time I moved a board on the dilapidated fence and got him in. The next time, the board had been nailed and I couldn’t move it. Another neighbor said she saw the man pick up the dog and throw him over the fence. It was a clear case of abuse but the other neighbor was afraid to file a complaint. Finally they said they gave the dogs away because of numerous citations. I suspect they went to the pound or were dumped somewhere.

  6. Judy A Says:

    A fox? Was that someone’s pet?

Leave a Reply

