Matthew, Step On and Spot

Chain of Hope received a call from a KCPD detective asking if we could assist a homeless man that lived under the bridge on Emmanuel Cleaver with his dog and his cat. He wanted to get them fixed and he needed food. We said sure, we’d be happy to help him. We went down to his corner he stands on with his dog and told him that if he could be on his corner at 8:30 the next morning, I’d be by to pick up his animals. We tried to leave him a pet taxi for his cat, but he said he already had something to put her in.

The next morning when I pulled up at 8:30 am, there was Matthew standing on his corner with Step On, his Puggle mix, and Spot, his black and white cat. The cat was in a couple of milk crates fastened together with bungee cords. Sounds hideous, but it actually worked fine, the cat was comfortable and not freaking out. I took the animals to the Humane Society of Greater KC to get neutered (both boys) and vaccinated. We told Matthew to be on his corner at 5:00 pm and we would return them to him.

When I pulled up at 5:00 pm, there was Matthew, waiting for his kids! He was very appreciative and so glad to see them. They are his world. Matthew told me that he’d rescued his cat when the kitty was just a little baby. He’d had Spot for 3 yrs. and the cat was in great shape. I gave him small enough bags of dog and cat food that he could zip them up in his backpack. It actually turns out that Kendra had seen Matthew down there before with his dog and had stopped and given him dog food a couple of times. I wished him and his animals well and left.

Thanks for your support so that we can help people and animals like Matthew, Step On and Spot.

5 Responses to “Matthew, Step On and Spot”

  1. Kelli Church Says:

    You help restore my faith in humanity, THANKS!!!!

  2. andywhiteman Says:

    It appears that Matthew needs some new jeans. I am glad that he cares for his animals unlike some people who aren’t homeless.

  3. Paige Says:

    So glad to hear the boys were neutered but I wonder where they sleep at night during the cold winter months… I don’t know of any homeless shelters that allow pets.

  4. LINDA TERRANOVA Says:

    HES NOT NEW TO THIS LIFE. I USED TO SHARE MY LUNCH & MONEY WITH HIM. I ALWAYS BROUGHT DOG FOOD. HE IS VERY HUMBLE TO YOUR GIFTS & ALWAYS SAYS THANK YOU . I DO NOT WORK BY THERE ANYMORE. HES BEEN IN AREA ALONG TIME !!! THANK YOU FOR SHARING STORY ,& HELPING HIM .

  5. Jennifer Says:

    Thank you for posting this. I saw Matthew and Step On Tuesday night but didn’t have a chance to stop and offer anything. Wednesday I read this and knew that I had to stop next time I saw them. I saw them again last night on the way home from work and stopped and gave them some money for food. I plan on stopping every once in a while with dog food, treats, and some money for Matthew. Thank you for all that you do for everyone, not just the dogs!

Leave a Reply

