Molly

Sorry there hasn’t been a blog lately. We moved this week and waited until today for AT & T to get here. So frustrating! Unfortunately, we’ve had several bad cases recently (don’t we always?). My first story back is another sad one but I must put it out there.

Chain of Hope received a call from a neighbor that there was a dog  abandoned in a vacant  house next door to him. He said the front door was unlocked and that the dog was very skinny.  I wasn’t able to get over there that day, but I went the next day. I went up and knocked in case someone was squatting in there. No answer, so I tried the front door and it was unlocked. I creaked it open and there stood the sweetest, most emaciated little tan and white pit bull. She hadn’t barked or made any sound, but when I opened the door and said hi to her ever so softly, her little tail just barely wagged. Someone had finally come to help her.  I snapped a quick picture of the place she’d been living, put a slip lead on her, gave her my last cheese cracker, and walked her out to the van.

I got her down to Chain of Hope and got her set up in a crate. She was not very hungry or thirsty even though she was totally emaciated. She mostly seemed tired and wanted to rest all the time.

That is what a lot of our emaciated dogs do when we bring them into Chain of Hope. They will sleep a lot, trying to recoup the energy it took to just survive. I didn’t worry too much, we just let her rest.

The next day I didn’t really like the way she was looking. She was very lethargic, still not eating well at all.  I took her into the Humane Society of Greater Kansas City. Dr Taylor took one look at her and said “she’s going to surgery”. She had pyometra, an infection of the uterus. She was running a pretty high fever and had a discharge. They got her on the table and Dr. Taylor told me that we had to hope her uterus hadn’t ruptured, because if it had they would not be able to save her. Pretty much as soon as she cut into Molly, bloody pus just poured out of her. Something had ruptured. Dr. Taylor worked and worked on her for quite awhile. Dr. Jonhson gloved up and jumped in to help. They kept pulling her organs out and checking everything. They were pretty puzzled by what was going on and Dr. Taylor told me shortly into the surgery that she didn’t think this was survivable. Dr. Taylor kept feeling something hard and thought it was one of her ovaries adhered to something. She said that if she couldn’t get that ovary out, there was no hope of survival. After 45 minutes, both of the doctors told me that she could not survive this. She had a horrible infection and her insides were a mess.

I had to accept reality, which I do. It just sucks, though. It’s so sad and depressing. We decided that we needed to go ahead and put her down while she was under. She just wouldn’t wake up again. A blessing to her since her life had been horrible here on this earth. As soon as they gave her the lethal meds and she was gone, Dr. Johnson stepped away from the surgery table, held her head in her hands and sobbed.  She talked about how badly Molly had suffered. While we were all trying to process what had just happened, Dr. Taylor had continued checking around in the abdomen, checking all of the organs, etc. All of a sudden she said, “Oh my God”!  We turned and looked and she was pulling an object out of Molly’ abdomen. It had perforated her intestines.  It was a tube of Avon’s Lipglaze Lipwear. That poor dog had eaten lipstick she was so hungry. Dr. Taylor pulled plastic wrappers from her stomach. This poor girl had eaten anything she could to survive while in that house.

The sadness of this case is almost unbearable. This one will stay with me the rest of my life. This precious girl stayed shut in that house and suffered unimaginable horror as she was starving and so very sick. I can only think that God will one day deal with the asshole that did this to her.

Chain of Hope marches on in Molly’s memory.

7 Responses to “Molly”

  1. Andy Whiteman Says:

    This is horrible. I hope whoever abandoned Molly will be tracked down and prosecuted!

  2. julie hepburn Says:

    Tears. Sweet baby Molly did not deserve this. What kind monster does this and gets away with it? Off with their head.

  3. julie hepburn Says:

    Tears. Sweet baby Molly. A monster is among us. Off with his head.

  4. Debra Egan Says:

    So so sad. Real justice would be for whoever did this to suffer the same fate.

  5. pattbee Says:

    I have asked before, I would so much like to help-this last one I just cried please let me know what I could do for you .go check house,,dogs,i can fine way to help….

  6. LOIS GORMAN Says:

    I HOPE WHOEVER DID THIS TO YOU SWEET MOLLY WILL SUFFER THE SAME WAY.THERE IS NO WAY AN ANIMAL SHOULD SUFFER FOR ANY REASON. THEY ARE PUT ON THIS EARTH FOR A REASON. ENJOY RAINBOW BRIDGE MOLLY AS I KNOW YOU ARE THERE WITH MY LITTLE ONES THAT HAVE PASSED. YOU WERE SUCH A BEAUTIFUL GIRL.

  7. Mike McDonald Says:

    You and the people who work with you are angels from Heaven…..my heart just friggin aches..

Leave a Reply

