The Boxers

Chain of Hope received an anonymous call about a house that had 3 dogs running around inside and no one lived there anymore. They said that they see someone pop in there every week or two and they run in and run out. It was a few days before we could even get  volunteers over there because we were swamped with the terrible weather. When the volunteers got over there last Sunday, they saw a large white purebred German Shepherd, gorgeous dog. There was a blk. lab mix running around, a Schnauzer mix and 2 Siamese cats. The volunteers walked around to the back of the house and looked in the kitchen window. What they saw horrified them. There was a black wire crate in the kitchen with 2 emaciated Boxers in it. There was no food, no water and the pen was filthy. It was difficult to get a picture through the dirty window, but it’s the best I could get.

The volunteers called me and asked if they should go ahead and call the police. On Sundays, we have to call KCPD to get animal control out to a call. I told them to go ahead and call them and keep me posted. It was quite a while and I hadn’t heard from them so I finally called them and they had been waiting for the police for an hour. I told them that I was coming down there. Shari and I went to the house and went around back and looked in at the Boxers. It was incredibly sad. How long had they been in there? Why were they in there? The dogs that were running loose were all at a good body weight. This just didn’t make any sense.

I called a volunteer that has some good police connections. The police officer checked and for some reason, the call was not showing in the system. She said that she was sending the police and animal control over there. Within 5 min. a police officer arrived. I explained the situation and he and I walked around back to look at the Boxers. Of course, he totally agreed that they had to get out of there.

Pretty soon, animal control arrived. The police officer took the animal control officer to the back of the house. The ACO took lots of pix of all of the animals inside the house. The police officer told me that he could not break into the house and that the ACO was going to have to get a warrant the next day in order to get in there and get the animals. These animals had another night in that house. Frustrating and very worrisome. Those Boxers looked terrible and they could see us looking in on them. It was so sad.

When I got home, I called the friend who had called her police friend and told her what had happened. She said that she had thought that the police captain that she had talked to had said that they could kick the door in and get the animals. She said she was going to call her friend back and update her and see what she said. The captain said that they absolutely could kick the door in and get them and she had another unit and animal control going back over there at 9:30 p.m. to get those poor animals. She is an awesome person and loves animals! She is priceless to us and the animals.

I went to Halfway Home  the next day to see the Boxers. They looked terrible. I am so glad that someone called on this house. These Boxers would not have made it much longer. Marlan is contacting Boxer rescue and said that they would get them transferred out of there. Thank God we got there in time to get these babies saved. What a horrible life they’ve had.

Thanks for keeping us out there. We wouldn’t be there without you supporting us!

9 Responses to “The Boxers”

  1. Barbara Varhol Says:

    Thank goodness for the volunteers who noticed this situation. Thank goodness for the person who has connections. Thank goodness for you leading this wonderful organization. When will these boxers go to Boxer rescue? Is the boxer who was dropped off at WR today a differnent boxer?

  2. Tammy Saum Says:

    Thank you to COH and the volunteers for their tireless efforts to save these animals. Thank you to Shari for contacting me that evening! I called the shelter and checked on the first thing Monday morning. I was able to get their photos today. I have fielded them out to all of our rescue contacts. I am fairly certain this evening that we already have rescue for the male in MN 😉 I am hoping that I have happy news to share tomorrow on the female!

    To Kate, Michelle, and all of the COH volunteers you are my heros!
    Tammy Saum
    Vice President of Friends of Halfway Home Pets
    and “Rescue Rebel”

  3. Patty O'Guin Says:

    Barbara, Yep! The boxer that was dropped off at WR yesterday is a different boxer.

  4. Kim Armstrong Says:

    I am so glad you had someone who was able to notice this. This is so sad. I can’t believe someone would do this. Thank God for your people!! Your organization is wonderful. On behalf of all the animals, thank you for all you do. You all are angels.

  5. Jonna Smith Says:

    Thank you COH hope, and Thank you Tammy for all you do. These beautiful babies deserve the chance to be with loving families. PLEASE share with us anymore good news you have about these 2 boxers.
    Also, were the other animals removed from the home?

    God Bless you ALL !

  6. Tammy Saum Says:

    Have rescue for both Boxers and they will be leaving the weekend of the 19th 😉 Horray!

  7. Jami Says:

    absolutly pisses me off to no end.. thank god once again someone made a call an you showed up.. thank you again for saving these babies lives..

Leave a comment