Raquel

 

I found who I am now calling Raquel when I was driving in KCK the other day. She was in a dog pen that was full of mud and feces. She was starving and had no food, no water. Her dog house didn’t fit on the base, the top of the pen looked like it would fall in on her anytime. She was pretty growly at us. I always tell these dogs who are growling at us, their helpers, that they have every right to be mad at the world with the way they’ve been treated. Raquel had every reason in the world to hate everyone and everything. She was freezing, she  was starving, she was totally neglected. She had not a friend in this world…..

until Chain of Hope showed up. I went to the door and knocked, but no one answered. I called this into animal control. It was blantant neglect and she needed to get out of there. I went on to try and cover more addresses, but she stayed on my mind.

When I left for work this morning, in the terrible snowstorm, I drove straight over to this house to see if animal control had taken her or if she was still there. I pulled up in front of the house and there was this precious little girl, curled up in front of her dog house, with snow on her. She had no food, no water, no straw or anything. She was freezing and was just laying there letting the snow cover her. I went straight to the frront door and spoke with the owner. I told her that she could not keep her dog like that. It was inhumane. I asked her if animal control had been there and she said no. Hard to say if she’s lying or animal control never even went-either thing could be true. I’d like to think that if animal control had been there, they would’ve taken the dog, but I’ve seen them leave them in shitholes before.

I told her that she could sign the dog over to Chain of Hope or I could get animal control over there. She told me that she had had a baby and “hadn’t been able to get out there and take care of her”. I asked her how old the baby was and she said “a year”. I told her that that was ridiculous that she said she couldn’t care for the dog because she had a baby. News flash: lots of people have babies and dogs and manage to take good care of both! It’s beyond maddening to hear the bs all the time.

Regardless, Raquel is safe and warm at Chain of Hope. She’s a little shy about things, but she’s going to be fine. She wants to eat everything! Happier pix of her coming soon!

Thanks for keeping the fuel in our trucks, the medical bills paid, the boarding fees paid, etc. We couldn’t do this without you!

5 Responses to “Raquel”

  1. Kristy Says:

    Poor dog! I’m glad she is nice and warm now 🙂

  2. Cecilia Helmstetter Says:

    Wonderful work! Thank you for keeping Raquel in your thoughts and getting her to a safer place!!

  3. Lynne Says:

    Hi. I still have that bale of straw, and I can get together another bag of treats if you’d like! just call me. Lynne Dempsey

  4. E Brunner Says:

    Thank you for looking after those pups/dogs in need. My gosh…. the out of sight/out of mind does NOT get you off the hook for care. Just sickening. Please continue your work. Can’t wait to see new, happy photos of Raquel!

  5. Linda Says:

    Yeah You!!!!!!!!!!! If you cant take care of a dog, how well do you take care of a baby?

Leave a Reply

