suffering puppy rescued

I am so tired, i’m just going to type and not care about grammar rules! My brain can’t think anymore today.  This little girl was saved in the hood yesterday, late afternoon. I was feeding a couple of dogs that we supplement and monitor and out of the corner of my eye, I saw a man and a couple of kids crossing busy 39th street, behind them was a puppy. I couldn’t see it that well-it was small and far away, but I could tell that it was skinny.  I noticed that as busy as it was, the people never looked back to make sure it was coming with them. Then I thought maybe it wasn’t their puppy, the puppy had seemed to be following various people at the gas station. As bad as this puppy looks and as sick as she is, no one-not one person even looked twice at her and that’s what pisses me off the most. I jumped in my truck and turned down the side street that I had seen the people go down with the puppy following them. No people were on that street at all, but about 3/4 of the way down, I saw the puppy in the middle of the street. I grabbed a can of canned food, popped the top and starting lobbing chunks of it towards the puppy and calling it. It smelled the food , found the chunks and got on the trail right back to me. I picked it right up and we rushed off to the Humane Society of Greater KC. They were appalled. and jumped right in caring for her with skin scrapings, antibiotics, and we gave her a medicated bath right away. She ate and drank lots of water and curled up in her towels and fell asleep. she was exhausted, but she was alive and she was safe. I don’t think this little girl was long for this world. Thank you for your support, your donations, your prayers and good thoughts. This is why we do what we do and we couldn’t do it at all without all of you behind us.

We need a long-term foster home for this baby.  She’s about 3 1/2 mo. old now. She is delightful, sweet and loving. I can’t even imagine what she has endured for weeks upon weeks. How painful it’s all been, I’m sure. She only weighed 12 1/2 lbs. We named her Addison and she ‘s contagious for awhile. She is on daily medication and she needs a medicated bath every 3 days. She is the sweetest puppy ever. She’s absolutely precious. Please call Chain of Hope for a foster application if you think that you could take on a case like this! It’s very rewarding to watch them heal and enjoy life!

One Response to “suffering puppy rescued”

  1. Marie Belanger Says:

    My God!! How do people just look away from the suffering of innocent creatures?? Our world is honestly becoming an unsafe place for the most innocent of Gods creations to even exist in Peace.
    Thank you for picking her up and taking her away from that neighborhood of barbarians!!

Leave a Reply

